Da Costa stripped of pole position; Piquet handed 10 place grid penalty

Antonio Felix da Costa has been stripped of his incredible pole position after his tyre pressures were found to be too low. He will now start from the back of the grid.

This means everyone from P2- P14 now moves up one slot: Bird starts on pole with DiGrassi right behind him. Stephane Sarrazin moves up into P3 and Nick Heidfeld into P4.

Nelson Piquet Jr’s day goes from bad to worse as he is handed a 10 place penalty for changing his e-motor. As he is unable to serves the full penalty as he qualified in 15th, he will now start 17th ahead of da Costa and will have 10 seconds added to his minimum pit stop time.

Long Beach ePrix Grid

  1. Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racin
  2. Lucas Di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler
  3. Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi
  4. Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra
  5. Robin Frijns, Andretti
  6. Daniel Abt, ABT Schaeffler
  7. Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.Dams
  8. Nico Prost, Renault e.Dams
  9. Jerome D’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing
  10. Bruno Senna, Mahindra
  11. Jean-Eric Vergne, DS Virgin Racing
  12. Simona De Silvestro, Andretti
  13. Oliver Turvey, NEXTEV
  14. Mike Conway, Venturi
  15. Salvador Duran, Team Aguri
  16. Loic Duval, Dragon Racing
  17. Nelson Piquet Jr, NEXTEV
  18. Antonio Felix da Costa, Team Aguri

Racing gets underway at 00.00 BST. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s