Berlin ePrix: Buemi wins hectic and messy race; ABT drivers 2nd and 3rd

Sebastien Buemi wins ahead of fellow title challenger Lucas Di Grassi in third and local hero Daniel Abt in second.

2015/2016 FIA Formula E Championship. Punta del Este ePrix, Punta del Este, Uruguay. Saturday 19 December 2015. Photo: Jed Leicester/LAT/Formula E ref: Digital Image _L1_5651
Buemi stole the lead of the race from pole man Jean-Eric Vergne at the first corner, and though the Frenchman did take it back, the Swiss muscled past him again and sailed off into the distance.

Vergne’s day went from bad to worse lost his front wing after locking up while under pressure from Nico Prost and smashing a bollard, allowing his fellow countryman through into third. He finished down in fifth.

Many drivers found themselves in the wars and having to pit for repairs – Rene Rast, Bruno Senna, Nelson Piquet, Oliver Turvey and Sam Bird all had to make unscheduled stops, ruining their races.

Nick Heidfeld really is the comeback kid – having been disqualified from qualifying for illegal tyres, he stormed through the field on a mission to finish in 7th. His teammate Senna was 15th.

The Andrettis were super racy and took full advantage of their promotion up the grid after post-qualifying penalties with spectacular moves from both on Loic Duval. Duval was handed a drive through penalty for using too much energy, and shortly after serving it crashed out of the race in Turn Seven, causing a Safety Car period.

Stephane Sarrazin was also a man on a mission after his pitlane start, and tried to use FanBoost to get past Simona de Silvestro for 10th place, but cut the chicane and had to give the place back. De Silvestro finished in 9th, Frijns in 6th, Sarrazin in 10th.

Debutant Rene Rast did not finish the race and was running four laps down in the closing stages of the race.

The Championship will go down to the wire at Battersea Park in six weeks time.

Berlin ePrix Race Results

  1. Sebastien Buemi RENAULT E.DAMS
  2. Daniel Abt ABT SCHAEFFLER
  3. Lucas Di Grassi ABT SCHAEFFLER
  4. Nico Prost RENAULT E.DAMS
  5. Jean-Eric Vergne DS VIRGIN RACING
  6. Robin Frijns AMLIN ANDRETTI
  7. Nick Heidfeld MAHINDRA
  8. Mike Conway VENTURI
  9. Simona De Silvestro AMLIN ANDRETTI
  10. Stephane Sarrazin VENTURI
  12. Oliver Turvey NEXTEV
  13. Nelson Piquet Jr NEXTEV
  14. Qing Hua Ma TEAM AGURI
  15. Bruno Senna MAHINDRA
  16. Jerome D’Ambrosio DRAGON RACING
  17. Rene Rast TEAM AGURI

DNF: Loic Duval

The final two rounds of the Formula E season take place on 2nd/3rd July at the London ePrix.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s