F1 Drivers and Teams

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Reigning World Champion Nico Rosberg’s decision to retire five days after clinching the title sent the stale driver market into a a bit of a spin, before Williams’ driver Valtteri Bottas was chosen as his replacement. How quickly he gets up to speed will be crucial to how well he can take the fight to Lewis Hamilton.

Team Principal: Toto Wolff
Drivers: Lewis Hamilton 44 (3)
    Valtteri Bottas 77
Car: W08 Hybrid

Scuderia Ferrari

Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen remain at Ferrari amid a time of instability among the leaders and technical team.

Team Principal: Maurizio Arrivabene
Drivers: Sebastian Vettel 5 (3)
                 Kimi Raikkonen 7 (1)
Car: SF17-H

Williams Martini Racing

Felipe Massa retired at the end of last season, before being asked to replace former teammate Bottas as he moved to Mercedes. The Brazilian will partner Canadian rookie Lance Stroll before likely leaving the sport at the end of the year.

Deputy Team Principal: Claire Williams
Drivers: Felipe Massa 19
                 Lance Stroll 
Car: FW40

Red Bull Racing

Red Bull are using Tag-Heuer branded Renault engines once again this year and are looking to take the fight to Mercedes in 2017. With arguably one of the strongest driver lineups in recent times, will this be the year Red Bull returns to championship-winning ways?

Team Principal: Christian Horner
Drivers: Daniel Ricciardo 3
                 Max Verstappen 33
Car: RB13

Sahara Force India

Force India have lost longtime member Nico Hulkenberg but have gained rising superstar Esteban Ocon. The Frenchman only competed in half the Grand Prix last year but quickly made an impression. He will parter Sergio Perez for 2017.

Deputy Team Principal: Bob Fernley
Drivers: Sergio Perez 11
                 Esteban Ocon 31
Car: VJM10

Scuderia Toro Rosso

Danill Kvyat was dropped and Carlos Sainz was overlooked. How will this duo perform this year in the pressure cooker that is Toro Rosso?

Team Principal: Franz Tost
Drivers: Danill Kvyat 26
                 Carlos Sainz Jr 55
Car: STR12


Felipe Nasr is out in favour of Pascal Wehrlein, but the young German will sit out preseason testing as he continues to suffer from an injury caused by a crash in January’s Race of Champions.

Team Principal: Monisha Kaltenborn
Drivers: Pascal Wehrlein 94
                Marcus Ericsson 9
Car: C36

McLaren Honda

McLaren said farewell to stalwart Jenson Button at the end of last season, and hola Stoffel Vandoorne. The Belgian briefly sat in for Fernando Alonso after the latter’s crash in Australia at the beginning of the year.

Team Principal: Eric Boullier
Drivers: Fernando Alonso 14 (2)
                Stoffel Vandoorne 2
Car: MCL- 32


Nico Hulkenberg joins the team in his first, and well-deserved, factory drive. He partners Jolyon Palmer who remains for a second season with the team.

Team Principal: Frédéric Vasseur
Drivers: Jolyon Palmer 30
                 Nico Hulkenberg 27
Car: RS17


Heading into their second season, Haas have replaced Esteban Gutierrez with Kevin Magnussen to partner Romain Grosjean.

Team Principal: Gunther Steiner
Drivers: Romain Grosjean 8
                 Kevin Magnussen 20
Car: VF-17